Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Stupid pro abortionists

So, I'm in the car listening to NPR (I know, I know, but I can't look away from car wrecks either), specifically the 1A Live program hosted by Joshua Johnson.

As expected, all the liberals are already foaming at the mouth about President Trump's 1st pick for the Supreme Court Justice.  The segment was focusing on his stance on abortion, and the question of whether Roe v Wade might be reversed.  One particular phone-in guest really got my attention, and apparently the sympathy of the panel on the program.

The caller was talking about how women shouldn't have their lives ruined by unwanted babies as they're pursuing college educations, careers, etc.

Now, I'm know I'm not the sharpest axe in the tool shed, but how are these idiots missing the fundamental point of this?  Know how to not have your life "ruined" by a baby?  STOP HAVING SEX THAT MIGHT RESULT IN PREGNANCY.  Why, why, why is this so hard to understand? No unprotected sex = no baby.  And if that formula is too difficult, then don't have sex at all.  Problem solved, no baby, no ruined life, no need for an abortion.

And why is it that none of these highly educated people ever stop to consider how they're "ruining" the life of that precious, innocent child?  I'm sure if you asked him/her, they'd agree that their lives have been ruined as well.

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

West Virginia Teacher's Strike - 2018

(Photo taken from public domain)

As far as I know, I only have one loyal reader of this blog, so there's little chance of offending anyone with this particular rant.

The public school teachers in the state of West Virginia are currently striking over low pay, and reduced insurance benefits.  This act of protest is occurring in all 55 counties, affecting the entire state.  So not only are teachers not working, but our children are not being educated - something that we, the taxpayers, are funding, regardless of whether or not the teachers decide to work.  Does anyone like paying for something they're not getting?  I don't.

The majority of teachers probably deserve a raise, and insurance is expensive.  We all want more money and more benefits.  But this situation is different.

When these people chose this career path, I can't imagine they didn't understand the rate of pay.  I also can't imagine that they don't understand where that money comes from - me, and every other taxpaying citizen in WV (um, this includes the teachers also).

So it isn't like you can just expect the state to pony up some extra money.  That has to come from somewhere.  Remember, the state doesn't make money - it can only spend what we pay it.

So in order to increase teacher's pay and benefits, that means that taxes have to go up.  Which translates to I/we must pay more taxes.  Even the teachers that are fighting for increases will be paying for that out of their own pockets.

Does no one besides me see this as a problem?

Now, let's talk about public employees striking, or strong arming, to get their way.

For those of us in the private sector (translated not paid by taxpayer monies), we want raises and increased benefits too.  And I have a couple of options to get it.  I can:  work harder/longer, find another job, change careers).  What I can't do is tell my employer that until he pays me more, I'm just not going to do anything.  He will simply send me on my way, wish me luck, and hire the next guy who'd love to have my job and get on with business.

These teachers would do well to remember that striking and holding companies hostage for increased benefits is exactly what killed the coal mining industry in the very state that they live and work in.


Wednesday, January 17, 2018

What's Missing From This Picture?

So, I took a walk through the neighborhood last night - the same neighborhood that I grew up in.  It was cold and snowing.  School had already been canceled for the following day.  I truly love walking on nights just like this one, and make it a point to do so every time I get the chance.

As I was walking, watching it snow, listening to the silence, no cars or people moving, it struck me that something was missing.

When I was a kid - you know, a couple of years ago - my brothers and I, along with just about everyone we knew, would be out in full force.  Dragging or carrying whatever we had to sled with: Flexible Flyers, inner tubes, discs, anything that would slide.  And no matter what street you were on, or what neighborhood you veered into, it was the same.  Kids, especially teens, would all be out playing in the snow.

Now, I know that times are different, and it's difficult to just turn your kids loose on the streets, but seriously?  Not a single person was out while I was walking.  No one sledding, no one walking, no one shoveling.  No one.  Not even any footprints in the snow, and very few tire tracks in the street.

I couldn't help but think how sad this was.  Such a simple pleasure, to go and enjoy an evening outside in the snow.  The quiet and solitude of being out on a night like that is almost magical.  Yet as far as I know, I was the only person enjoying it.  At least in the one mile loop I traveled.

To me it's a shame that the only person out enjoying, and appreciating, a cold snowy walk at night, was a guy in his 50s, who would have been as happy pulling a sled around the neighborhood as he was 40 years ago.  Makes you wonder a little if anyone looking out their window when I went by was thinking "what's that nut doing out there?".

I hope I never lose the desire, or ability, to do just what I did last night; experience the feel, the sound, even the smell, of walking or being outside on a snowy night.