Monday, November 11, 2013

Atheist Church? Gimme a break

I heard on the news today where there is a new movement in America.  Apparently it is a spill-over from something already occurring in Europe - atheist churches.  Or more specifically, atheist mega-churches.

For real?

What a contradiction!

Definition of "atheist": 
a person who denies or disbelieves the existence of a supreme being or beings.

Definition of "church": 
a building designed for public forms of worship, esp Christian church.

Given these two definitions, what you have is a gathering of people who don't believe in anything, gathering in a building reserved for worship.  What's the point?  What are they worshipping?

Sounds to me like they just need a clubhouse.

Wednesday, June 26, 2013

The "n" Word

Paula Deen has been all over the news lately for her admitted use of the "n" word as a racial slur, and righfully so.  It has cost her work, sponsors, and money.

Let's face it, the "n" word is just as offensive today as it's been for the last 150 years or so.  It was always intended to be an offensive word, and Ms. Deen is paying dearly for her use of it.

But let's also be fair.  If all of the record labels would drop the artists that fling the "n" word around, much more freely and openly than Paula did, we would probably have about 50% fewer recording artists.  The same goes for comedians and actors.  Why isn't the entertainment industry as a whole dropping people like flies for their use of the "n" word?

Because the majority of people that so casually use that word are black.  Is the word any less offensive because a black person uses it?  And what about the slurs used by this same group of people toward caucasions, aren't they also offensive?

I just don't understand why you're allowed to say whatever you want, about whoever you want, but only if you're black.

Make everyone suffer the same career and monetary punishment, regardless of who utters, or shouts, or sings, the offensive word(s).

Monday, January 14, 2013

Classroom Socialism

I "borrowed" from a post I saw on FaceBook and thought it too interesting not to pass on here.  Just when you thought there was no hope for liberal academia.

I have no idea who the source of this item is, so no copyright infringement in intended.


CLASSROOM SOCIALISM


Is this man truly a genius?
An economics professor at a local college made a statement that he had never failed a single student before but had recently failed an entire class. That class had insisted that Obama's socialism worked and that no one would be poor and no one would be rich, a great equalizer.

The professor then said, "OK, we will have an experiment in this class on Obama's plan". All grades will be averaged and everyone will receive the same grade so no one will fail and no one will receive an “A”.... (substituting grades for dollars - something closer to home and more readily understood by all).

After the first test, the grades were averaged and everyone got a “B”. The students who studied hard were upset and the students who studied little were happy.

As the second test rolled around, the students who studied little had studied even less and the ones who studied hard decided they wanted a free ride
too so they studied little. The second test average was a “D”! No one was happy.

When the 3rd test rolled around, the new average was an “F”.

As the tests proceeded, the scores never increased as bickering, blame and name-calling all resulted in hard feelings and no one would study for the benefit of anyone else.

To their great surprise, ALL FAILED and the professor told them that socialism would also ultimately fail because when the reward is great, the effort to succeed is great, but when government takes all the reward away, no one will try or want to succeed.

Human nature will always cause socialism's style of government to fail because the world has producers and non-producers (makers and takers).

It could not be any simpler than that.